Mumbai Marathon 2014

Almost 3yrs since I ran my last full marathon I was too tempted and motivated to run Mumbai Marathon this year. And begin the calendar year of running.
Last few marathons had been half marathons and the last half marathon was The Wipro Chennai Marathon in December 2013 where I ran in 2hrs2mins.

That also kicked off my practice for Mumbai. I ran almost 3days a week covering about 45-60+kms in a week. And was also consistent with my stretches. I did not get injured which put me off previously.

18th January was a day of bib collection and some smooth food which would not impact the stomach. 19th january was the d-day. All set with my usual running attire we walked towards the start point and I got off at section C. I had my usual pouch which contained chocolate bar, 200ml water bottle, lemon pieces and garmin watch. I did not want watch on my hand since I felt it would tempt me to keep looking at the watch. I moved out of the start line by around 5:45am, 5mins after the flag off.
I managed to maintain steady pace and met a colleague and friend Gokul. We both managed same pace sometimes up and down. When I felt like having a refreshment I was happy to see oranges which I grabbed few and held in my hand. At regular intervals kept eating bits of orange. I did not feel like stopping for water nor enerzal. At a point where i did not find orange I grabbed enerzal and drank half of it.

Post 20kms, we were out of sea link. This was one stretch I was not very comfortable previously. Almost 5kms on this sea link was a perfect run on this day with a perfect weather and the orange ball of sun rising up. Maintaining the same speed the kms kept increasing and the distance to end point was closing up.
30kms over, 33kms over and then it stuck. I was cramping up on left knee and then right thigh. Not having water was a big mistake which i was realising now. I walked few meters, ran few meters. Alternating between walking and running, I was able to cross few more kms. Managed to get bottle of water to pour on my head, sponge to squeeze water off, enerzal to drink. With this I inched towards 40kms mark. Then I was determined no more walking and slowly kept running. Fortunately, I was not cramping up. But sadly I saw the 4hr15mins bus crossing by.
That was it. No more turning back, just push off with whatever strength was there in the body. With that as motto, I ran and ran. Seemed like longest km and was very happy to see the clock reading 4hrs15mins when I crossed over the finish line. I was happy but no energy left, dragged towards refreshment counter to collect some water bottles and my medal.

Thats it, I have done it was first expression. I was comfortable throughout the run and my best run in Mumbai and my personal best timings.

Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2014 – Marathon 5:40 Start Back
Bib Number 5336
Name SATHISH KRISHNASWAMY
Gender MALE
Category OPEN
Overall Rank 496
Category Rank 361
Gender Rank 470
Split@10.5 Km 0:58:14 at an Avg Speed of 10.82 Kmph
Split@15 Km 1:22:58 at an Avg Speed of 10.85 Kmph
Split@20.1 Km 1:51:16 at an Avg Speed of 10.84 Kmph
Split@21.1 Km 1:56:44 at an Avg Speed of 10.85 Kmph
Split@27 Km 2:29:41 at an Avg Speed of 10.82 Kmph
Split@29.2 Km 2:42:47 at an Avg Speed of 10.76 Kmph
Split@30.3 Km 2:49:10 at an Avg Speed of 10.75 Kmph
Split@31.5 Km 2:56:38 at an Avg Speed of 10.7 Kmph
Net Time 4:15:36 at an Avg Speed of 9.9 Kmph
Gross Time 4:20:31

Thats the statistics on 19th january!

My training as recorded in dailymile was:
October 2013 – 114kms
November 2013 – 73kms
December 2013 – 198kms
January 2014 – 136kms

This was what helped me cross the line comfortably. Thanks to doctor Gladson Johnson of Attitude Prime who helped me with stretches.

2 thoughts on “Mumbai Marathon 2014

  1. Pingback: Chennai Marathon 2014 | Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muss man schweigen

Leave a Reply

