Delhi 2 Bangalore

For the first part of the trip from Delhi towards Leh, click here & here & here & here.

13th August, I took my bike to Gurdial Auto Works @ Karol Bagh in Delhi for a quick service before I start on my trip down till Bangalore. The mechanic fixed new clutch plates, cleaned the decompresser, cleaned the carburettor. Filled up some more engine oil.

He: acha hua aap idar aagaye (Good you came here)
Me: kyon (why)
He: Bangalore me koyi dang ka mechanic nahin hai (there are no good mechanics in Bangalore)

After all servicing and payment. He was of the opinion that I shouldn’t ride till Bangalore since my vehicle drinks lot of oil and there will be short circuit. If its 200kms or inside Delhi city its ok, not otherwise. You need to change piston rings, get a new bore and fix it.
If he is the best mechanic in India then am the best bullet rider in India. For such a situation of vehicle I managed in the end to ride 2600kms without any issue. Am not the best rider in town and so he is not the best mechanic.

This is something I have noticed of many Punjabi’s that I have met in my journey’s. No doubt they are very friendly and affectionate and with lot of passion. But some of them have this attitude that Indians are good for nothing. They only thing they are good is in producing kids. Everyone except them are dumb and they are the best. They are proud to talk about themselves and show what they have done in the past.

After all the servicing, in the evening we walk down to have chaat and yes we had it. Little did I realise that that was the starting point. Within time my stomach got upset and my system got screwed up badly. I was unable to eat any further anything and dinner was just curd rice.

    Delhi to Jaipur: 14th August:


Route: Once you leave Delhi head towards Gurgoan and continue on NH8. There is lot traffic in this stretch. 270kms approximately.
After crossing Gurgoan, there was huge pile up of vehicles and I hustled my way through all vehicles. In this my bag got stuck to side of truck and fell down and side part was torn off. I put the bag back on carrier and fastened it. And squeezed my way through. This was for a distance of 20kms and reason an accident.
Further down when I was riding inside Rajasthan, my bike suddenly stopped. I tried to start and it refused. I understood what the problem was. I pushed my bike for 3kms, yes with all the luggage and all alone. Luckily found a garage where there were servicing trucks and jeeps. I stopped, crossed over and asked for electrician. I told him the problem after initial reluctance agreed to help me out. I told him the steps and the soldering of the wire connected to ignition coil had come off. This was soldered and he refused to take money.

He: Aap se paisa nahin loonga (I wont take money from you)
Me: kya baat karthe ho (what are you saying)
He: Aap pareshani se mere paas aaye (you came to me in distress)
Me: tho (so)
He: Aap ki madad karne se dil kush ho gaya (my heart feels content in having helped you)
Me: thank you

Inside Jaipur I asked an auto guy for way to hotel and suddenly one guy pounced out and offered to take me to hotel “Hotel Sanu” near the market place. He wanted Rs.20/- and bargained and later gave him that for bringing my luggage into the room.

Jaipur was not the same. There are petrol stations just outside the Jaipur gate and there was nothing pink about the city. Get out into the side streets there is garbage all over and smells so yukky.

    Jaipur to Udaipur: 15th August:


I wished the Hotel Sanu receptionist (guy from Orissa working here) since it was Independence Day and he didn’t even acknowledge. It seemed as if independence was immaterial to him. JAI HIND.
Route: From Jaipur continue on NH8 in the direction of Ajmer. Before Kishangarh take a left turn into NH79A. Few kms down it joins NH79. From Chittaurgarh it joins NH76 and into Udaipur. 415kms.
The ride was awesome. I met bus full of Gujarati’s near Kishangarh and talked to them. Moment I started talking, all the guys inside the bus were around me. One rushed to get me tea and poori. Another gave me tips on the route. They were so happy and they felt it was an honour to talk to me. In reality I felt the other way around. Such a sharp contrast between Delhi and these people. They all waved me goodbye and waited till I started on my journey.
Udaipur looked to be more beautiful city than Jaipur. Little smaller and cleaner. I checked into “Hotel Gokul Palace” near the bus stand. Always bargain for better room prices. Do not go by what they quote. It was damn hot during the entire day. Today I managed to have a meal in the noon and my stomach was still upset.
Next day I woke up early in the morning around 5:00am and went into the old parts of town in the direction of city palace. The houses, the lanes, the lake all actually give a feel of Venice. Its for no dumb reason that Udaipur is equated to Venice of east.
There are lot of shops catering to the Western tourists. Gives a feel that many travellers here are either from Europe or Israel.
My stomach started to give me problems again forcing me to return to the hotel. After a sound nap when I woke up it was raining heavily. Rest of the day I was forced to remain indoors. And I couldn’t take a walk again to have a look inside the City Palace.
Sankalp is a South Indian Restaurant and going by the crowd here, looks like people like South Indian food especially dosa and idlli. This is priced on the higher side and is definitely not a value for money restaurant. They do have branches in lot of cities around Gujarat and Maharashtra.

    Udaipur to Daman: 17th August:


Route: NH8 from Udaipur till Mumbai via Ahmedabad and Vadodara. Alternatively one can head towards Godhra and reach Vadodara. There is an expressway from Ahmedabad to Vadodara but this is only for cars. At Vapi turn right to Daman. Turn left and you are into Silvassa another Union Territory. 640kms.
Though we call Daman & Diu, both are seperated by a distance of 300kms on road. The other way is through sea.

The stretch is pretty scenic and earlier day’s rains just enriched the greenery. The roads have been laid by cutting through the mountains and this is pretty much evident. Kids walk long distance to go to school. Not much traffic on Rajasthan side. One guy who walking to work stopped, talked to me and even explained a bit of his work too. Another on cycle waved to me and wished me. Everytime I stop my bike for a break there will be kids around eagerly waiting for me to take my camera out and click their pictures. Of late I stopped clicking pictures of these kids except on occasions.
Once I cross Rajasthan into Gujarat there is lot of traffic. People in both these States of India are very friendly. “Athithi Devo Bhava”.
The entry to Daman is not what one would expect. There are no roads and only gravel. A left turn would take you to Moti Daman and continuing straight would lead to Nani Daman. I stayed in Nani Daman at “Hotel Holidays”. Not the best of hotels. But everywhere I could bargain for a lesser price. I would not recommend this hotel though. I found about three cockroaches in the room. Hopefully nothing beyond that.

Following day woke up early as usual to the sound of water only that it was raining. Slept again and when I went for breakfast around 9:00am it was still raining. Its amazing feeling to watch rain with glass of tea in hand. And drops of raining falling on you flowing with the wind. After watching the rains for 1hr nothing much to do but to retreat into the bed. When the rain did stop I took my bag and went walking around the town. Man, it was humid aggravated by the rains.
Moti Daman is very quite place compared to Nani Daman. The entire population of Moti Daman resides inside the fort. The inside of the fort is designed in such a way that entire town would be inside. Properly planned layout of residential area, police, court, hospital. A visit to Jampore beach is a must. Walking around the fort is not all that good idea with the area being 36000square meters. Maybe someday when it is not raining I would return to this place to walk around the entire fort.
There is a fort in Nani Daman which is very smelly inspite a church being inside the fort. Devka beach is not as beautiful as Jampore. Nani Daman is more noisy. I had planned for some sunset shots but it started raining again in sometime, forcing me back to room.

    Daman to Bangalore: 19th August:


Route: Reach Vapi and get onto NH8. Continue on NH8 till Godbhundar. Turn left into Thane and proceed towards Kalwa Bridge. Turn right after that towards Panvel. Its one straight road. Finally turns left into NH4 towards Pune. Do not leave NH4. Cross Satara, Kolhapur, Belgavi, Hubbali, Davengere, Chitradurga, Tumkur.
Distance: 1250kms. Travel days: 2 Night halt: Gold Star, Kolhapur.

NH8 roads towards Mumbai have been damaged due to rains and fresh laying is also happening. The traffic is also heavy that its not a fast moving highway. Godbhundar is signified by a very big river that flows out there. With good amount of rainfall and raining at that time of travel it was a magnificent view. It looked really majestic.
On reaching NH4, bikes are not allowed on expressway so I continue on NH4 and at Lonavala for few kms one would get onto the expressway and have to leave at the Lonavala junction. Since this was the first time on this highway for me, I was confused when I got into expressway and did not know how to get out. I see an luggage carrier auto in front of me. I go by his side and stop him.

Me: Expressway me kaise aagaye, nahin aane ka (How did you get into expressway, you are not supposed to come here)
He: {gets tensed and thinks am an officer} nahin saab galti se aagaya (came into this by mistake)
Me: bahar kaise jaoge (how will you go out of expressway)
He: saab udar poochoonga, galti ho gayi saab (i will ask there, mistake happened sir)
Me: ok

Then I also got to know how to get out of the expressway into NH4 again and I continued my journey. From Kolhapur after night’s sleep finally my stomach seemed to be doing better. Almost 6 days of being upset made me lose appetite and managed with just a meal a day.
And I met Nash of IndiThumpers who was riding solo to Velankanni. We both continued on the journey together. Between Davengere and Chitradurga construction activity is still ongoing. After Tumkur, got into Nice Road to reach Bannerghatta Road much faster and avoiding all the traffic.

Upset stomach did not mean that I missed good food on the way. Kichadi and kadi in Rajasthan. Dokhla in Gujarat. Poha and vada paav in Maharashtra.

Click here for photos.

2 thoughts on “Delhi 2 Bangalore

  1. Pingback: 2010 – A year that was « Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muss man schweigen

Leave a Reply

