2nd Duathlon

June 13th sunday early morning, Shyam & myself started a short ride to Prakruthi Resort in Devanahalli. The reason for ride was BSA Hercules Duathlon. 2nd time this even is being conducted.
The morning was breezy, cloudy slight dirzzle on the way. At the venue there were about 400 people as participants and lots as support crew, organisers, medical staff, mechanics. It took some time to find our cycles.
We had taken the timing chip also the day before to get timed for each phase of 5kms running, 20kms cycling, 5kms running and the transition time.
The first 5kms of running was breeze. But I dont know I suddenly slowed down on the return after 3kms. Till then I was running at about 12-13km/hr. Something struck me that I should save some energy for the next phases.
After reaching the 5kms mark. I picked up my cycle and ran to the start point and cycled all the 20kms. Its a loop of 5kms. So you go 5kms one way, come back and follow the same route again. Which means I take a U-Turn 3 times. I suck when taking U-Turns. I have to stop the cycle fully, push it, turn it and again start pedalling.
Someone had played with my gears too. While the gear shifter was showing thrid gear, the chain was stuck between 2nd & 3rd. Maybe I should have noticed this initially before the race. The wind was blowing little heavy and in an uphill it took some energy out to pedal the distance. Its all part of the challenge. Finally I did manage to finish the 20kms, not that I had any doubts on that. But then I always hate when there is an U-Turn. Also, my thunder racer with all the maintanance I did at Track & Trail, the pedal noise started to re-appear. Its damn annoying. I wish they looked into this properly.
I run with the cycle, park it at the same slot and return for the final 5kms of running. This time I start at a steady pace. There were two kids who were running to find their mom and I was running along. It was fun though not for long. At 1.25km mark I met my brother (he was quick on his cycle). I left him over there and ran at the steady pace till the end. Last 100mts there was some guy who pushed to run harder and faster. Thanks to him I finished the last 5kms in a little better time.

My timings:
5kms – 25mins 40 secs (running)
Transition – 2mins 07 secs
20kms – 53mins 50secs (cycling)
Transition – 2mins 01 secs
5kms – 28mins 08 secs (running)

Overall ranking: 43
Category Ranking: 34

An overall improvement of about 9mins from last year.

Organising wise there was nothing that one could say negative about this event. It was perfect to the core. Next time I would be aiming for a top 10 finish definitely.

2 thoughts on “2nd Duathlon

Leave a Reply

