Bangalore – Pudukottai Ride

This ride was little different from all other rides I have done before on my motorbike.

Onward journey:
On saturday morning 15th May, I woke up by 2:30am and got ready for the ride. I kick-started my bike at 3:30am. I have never left for any ride so early. This time I wanted to try out how it is to leave early and reach the destination early.
The route I took: Bangalore – Hosur – Krishnagiri – Dharmapuri – Salem – Namakkal – Karur – Tiruchirapalli – Pudukottai. Total Distance: 460kms. Time of travel: 7.5hrs. Number of stoppages: 3.
Bangalore till Karur is on NH7 and the roads are very good for riding. The elevated highway within Bangalore limits is a big boon for avoiding truck traffic. Rs.10/- for motorbike doesnt matter when time is saved. The first stop at Krishnagiri and the second stop at Salem for breakfast. It was 6:15am when I reached Salem, < 3hrs of riding. Lot of difference from before when it used to take 5hrs!! From here to Karur continuing on NH7 is only about 1.5hrs.
From Karur to Tiruchirapalli you need to take NH67. 80kms of pain I should say currently with road expansion works at many points. Do avoid this stretch. Read my return journey to know how. The dust during this stretch gave me worst sneezing in recent times and made me sick for rest of the day later.
From Trichy to Pudukottai on NH210 is a very good stretch. Cauvery river flowing on one side and covered with trees drives away the heat. To enjoy this scenery I stopped once not to take photos but just to get a smell of it.

@ Pudukottai:
11:00am sharp I was there in Pudukottai with the heat driving me nuts. Everything you touch was hot. Dry heat all over, you want to sleep but you cant. There are no roads inside town due to laying of drainage pipes. This is a good move to improve the town infrastructure. Another 2yrs maybe before the roads are relaid. Its a planned city though. If you are stuck in one road dont worry, its all parallel and perpendicular. You can find your way out easily. Honking is a norm as in any other town/village. I was sneezing almost the entire day due to the dust pollution I was subjected to earlier in the day.

Return journey:
16th May after catching up on sleep post lunch. It was 4:00pm when I left.
Route: Pudukottai – Tiruchirapalli – Musiri – Thottiyam – Valaiyapatti – Namakkal – Salem – Dharmapuri – Krishnagiri – Hosur – Bangalore. Distance: 425kms Travel time: 7hrs. Stoppages: 4 (one stop was for ministers visit to Krishnagiri & highway being blocked for same)
On reaching Trichy take NH45 towards Chennai. There is a deviation for Srirangam (5kms to Srirangam) dont take it, continue further. There will be sign board which reads 25kms to Padalur. At a point there is a left turn with a board sign for Salem. This turn takes you to SH25. Turn left and turn first right. Sign boards are there everywhere. Once you take a right turn you cant miss it. Just ride on the road to Namakkal. This is shorter by about 40kms and no dust. Roads are bad at patches but not bad enough to make you fall sick.
Once you reach Namakkal, follow the sign boards and you will be led to NH7 highway. On NH7 just be careful with lot of villagers crossing the roads and for truck traffic and for reckless drivers.
When I reached Bangalore it was 11:15pm and it was not tiring journey.

At the end of it, am starting to feel happy to start very early in the morning. Less traffic, no dogs or people crossing roads.

One thought on “Bangalore – Pudukottai Ride

  1. Thanks for this post… I am planning to go there next week for a marriage and still deciding if I should go by my car or bus?? Any suggestions??

Leave a Reply

