Mumbai Marathon 2009

2 weeks of no training after cycle trek. And basically no running after Ultra Marathon. It was pretty much difficult to complete the marathon but I managed it in the end. I completed in little over 5hrs.
Somehow, I don’t know but after seeing the 30km mark I tend to feel that my legs are tired. That my body would give it up. This is some sort of mental block that’s creeping in of late and I need to work on this soon. Sooner the better.
After some point I wanted to munch few bananas and regain some energy but unfortunately none of the water booths have bananas or oranges. That actually helped me when running Ultra. I finally gulped a bottle of maaza from a shop nearby enroute. Heat was of course on higher side compared to Bangalore!! But definitely not as worse as 2006 or 2008.
Anyway, one more medal to the tally and now time for betterment and improvement.

2 thoughts on “Mumbai Marathon 2009

  1. “Somehow, I don’t know but after seeing the 30km mark I tend to feel that my legs are tired. That my body would give it up. This is some sort of mental block that’s creeping in of late and I need to work on this soon.”

    Sounds like classic hitting the wall.Burning fat after you hit the wall takes a toll on the body and the mind as well since you need more oxygen to burn the fat -since you have no more glycogen reserves at that point- and the brain is deprived of top quality oxygen.

    I guess it happens to 99% of us.Only solution is perhaps more and more long runs and the discipline to go slow in the initial half of the race.

Leave a Reply

