Ultra Marathon – 50kms

My first ever Ultra Marathon, the second conducted by Runners For Life. Same place like last year starting and ending at Our Native Village resort. One way distance was 6.25kms and a loop of 12.5kms. Each runner had a choice of running 25kms, 50kms, 75kms, 100kms or run as much for 12hrs.
The best part is since it is organised and conducted by runners, they know what is required and how to do it. There were few guys who were running for 24hrs.
I ran/walked 50kms in close to 7hrs. Last year I cancelled my run in Ultra due to knee injury. This year, my knee pain started again on completing about 30kms. But I carried on thanks to my bro, who said he would accompany me but later stopped due to cramps.
Also, thanks to others who believed I can do it and all those who encouraged me enroute.
I got cramps in my stomach due to hunger (next time I should plan how to eat during the run and before the run), knee pain, cramps in thigh. But in the end I did finish it.
It was nice cloudy day with slight drizzle and sun never came out the entire day which was blessing in disguise. The trail was made out neat with good amount of up’s & down’s, had lot of stones, bit of grass, bit of tarred road and mud. No wonder it is said Ultra is tough.
The best part was for about every 1.5kms mark roughly there was a water point. In the finishing stages at every point, I used to do few squats, apply the iodex pain relief spray and again continue. It was indeed gruelling and for the first time I sweat so much running in Bangalore that too within the first 25kms.

Finally one photo of mine smiling when running.

(Courtesy Sabine, who is also founder/runner of Runner Girls of India)
For more photos, click here. Lot more to come.

The sad part is I had registered for 75kms and I ran only 50kms so I do not qualify for finishers medal 😦

4 thoughts on “Ultra Marathon – 50kms

  1. Pingback: Just a little something » The ultra experience

Leave a Reply

