Travel Diary from Budapest – Day 0

Day 0:

Reached Budapest quite late in the evening around 2:30pm. After passport check and check-in baggage collection, the taxi driver was waiting for me, reached the apartment by around 4:00pm. Inbetween the taxi had to go to office in GraphiSoft park for collecting the keys. The key I used to the door of the apaprtment didnt work. It just didnt fit. Luckily a couple came and opened the main door for me. Then when I went up to the apartment the key wouldnt work. After trying for half hour I came back downstairs in search of some person. Luckily a lady just walked in. After enquiring she saw the number on the key and identified that I was on the wrong side. Went thru the garage to the right building and the key worked.
Then I went in search of phone booth or internet cafe finding neither of them I returned to the apartment to brush my teeth & take a refreshing bath. Initial plan was to take rest in the bath tub but since I wasnt able to call home to convey the news that I arrived safely, I shortened my bath to usual types.

(Castle view from apartment balcony)
When I went down there were few people playing with their kids, we exchanged pleasantaries and then I enquired about internet cafe. This is located in Florina Square and they asked me to take Bus No.6. Then they wen on to explain the oldness of the city. The place am in currently is called by name Obuda. Long back there were three cities, Obuda, Buda & Pest. quite some decades back Buda & Pest were merged by the goverment to become one city Budapest.

There is a 24hr shop few meters down the road and in the shop they told me Florina Square is just about 500mts from there. So I decide to walk down and find no internet cafe’s. There is a DVD shop where I enquire about internet and they do provide the same but the minimum is 1hr. Since I have to some way convey the news back home I take it. And in the end found that I had used about 45mins of the time since I had to browse and respond to certain stuff.

(Traffic jams follows with me)

(So do accidents)
I walk after that back to the apartment and in another sometime am back on the road in the opposite direction to check out other places, anyway the time is now 9:00pm. So, cant do much I find a place to eat my dinner. I finish it and back to the apartment now. And its time to goto sleep.
Morrow I plan to wake up by 6:00am and take a walk along river Danube which is just a stones throw away from the apaprtment.

Leave a Reply

