Are we united & diverse?

News headlines India Pledge

India is my country and all Indians are my brothers and sisters.
I love my country and I am proud of its rich and varied heritage.
I shall always strive to be worthy of it.
I shall give my parents, teachers and all elders respect and treat everyone with courtesy.
To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion.
In their well-being and prosperity alone, lies my happiness.”

Just like we have forgotten so many things in our life this also seems to be one. Open any newspaper in the morning, the top news items would be rape and rape and rape and more rape or naxalism or telangana or cauvery water or some organisation threatening certain people related to arts (all girl band, art display in bangalore, movie release in Tamilnadu) or fishermen killing or pirates attack or dalit issue.

Isn’t there any development happening in India is what one would wonder. There seems to be too many issues disturbing common public.

Going by certain events our diversity seems to be in question. All the candlelight protest for a rape victim seems to be long back with the case taking its own time and nobody protesting if a dalit girl is raped & hanged (like what happened  days ago in Bihar). Nor is there a voice for lot of things. We seem to be biased in our actions for our own brothers and sisters.

What respect can I give to teachers of today if they themselves molest or rape a girl. What respect do elders get when they are the one’s involved in scams & scams.

Where is “my people” that was intended in the pledge?

There is only one thing that makes us cross all barriers and come together, that is cricket.

While I can only still remain devoted to my country there is no more happiness.

Leave a Reply

